top of page

Marvel's Avengers: A Game Review


Avengers Videogame Cover

Avengers is a cool new game I got for Christmas. I wanted this game because I love Marvel Comics. It’s amazing to play a video game as my favorite characters from movies and comics. Also, the story is really good. I can’t wait for a part two to the game.


I was really excited that almost all the main Avengers are in it. The game has characters like The Hulk and Thor, God of Thunder. Cap is in it and, of course, Tony Stark, the Iron Man. It also has Black Widow, Ms. Marvel, and appearances of Hank Pym. I have always been a fan of comics, especially Marvel Comics, so getting to play as, or interact with, these characters was a lot of fun. As the plot rolls out, the game also has side characters like the new S.H.I.E.L.D. director Maria Hill and the villain Taskmaster.


There are also things I don’t exactly like about the new Avengers game. When I said almost all the main Avengers are in it, I meant they left out Hawkeye. You see him briefly in a photo, where he is wearing a T-shirt with a target on it. But that’s it, you never see him otherwise. To replace him on the team, you have Ms. Marvel, who is a pretty good character. In another mode, you can play as Kate Bishop, the new Hawkeye.

For the plot of the game, the Avengers fight A.I.M. and M.O.D.O.K. to save the Inhumans and the entire world. Now for starters, and I know this is a good spoiler, but at the start of the game, Cap dies. However, if you are a true fan, you know he’s not going to stay dead for the whole game. Cap sees that the Helicarrier reactor is unstable during an attack. The scientist, Dr. Tarleton, can’t figure out how to stop it from exploding. So, Cap ran to destroy the reactor hoping to prevent the explosion, but the reactor still exploded. It killed Nick Fury and many others. The ones that didn’t die turned into Inhumans. A.I.M. shows up to imprison and kill all the Inhumans in an attempt to create Adaptoids that will allow them to take over the world. That’s all I’m going to say, too many spoilers beyond this basic setup.


I recommend this game because it is so awesome. The story is great, and the gameplay is a lot of fun. I hope there will be a part two with mentions of Hawkeye or maybe Spiderman. There is an after-credit scene, and if you have an account with the game company, you get special access to something at the end. So, defeating the game doesn’t give you an option of free play once the game is over, but you can always play the storyline again.



Be sure to check out our other Game Reviews!


19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page