top of page

Man Cave? How About Boy Castle?

There's a section of our house that is pretty much devoted to the boys. Past a certain point in our upstairs is theirs. Their bedrooms. Their bathroom. And...a storage room turned toy/play room.

front of castle wall

I've always called this area little boy area. So, for example, when the boys are talking talking talking...sometimes, I say "why don't you guys go to little boy area and spend some time playing." You need a break every once in a while after all.

Eli's room decorations are based on superheroes, Luke's on video games. Every piece of decoration in each room is themed, from the wall hangings to the things set out and about through the room. I had thought about making Bowser's castle from Mario... or King Koopa... I used to think it was King Koopa, but my boys have convinced me I'm wrong, and that the guy's name is Bowser. Oh well, whatever his name, I HAD thought about making a castle to go with Luke's Mario peel & stick decoration on his wall. But, the boys' rooms were fairly evenly matched. So, I couldn't put something that big in 1 room without having something equivalent in the other room. Twins!

But, later, I figured out a way to get the castle. Separate all of "little boy area" with a castle wall! The last couple of days, I did just that. I built a 4ft X 6ft castle wall with a door (2.5ftX5ft). I added a draw bridge that can close using a rope and pulley system.

Back of castle wall

The boys are pretty happy with how it turned out. Two minutes after it was complete, they were closing the drawbridge and threatening me with toy swords!

The boys closing the drawbridge

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page