top of page

Treehouse of Horror part 5

So I'm walking down the road carrying a 4x8 sheet of paneling on my back, feeling a bit like a pack mule, and each gust of wind gives me a bit of a lift off...and I'm honestly wondering if enough wind would jerk the thing out of my hands or truly take me for a ride with it. This is the last sheet of paneling that needs to be added to the treehouse to finish its four walls, but turns out building a treehouse between 5 trees does not equal square right angles! So, my 8x8 house isn't quite 8 ft on one side and that dang panel needed cut from 48 inches to 38 inches. Luckily, Joanna's uncle is quite the handyman and has every tool imaginable and lives 5 houses away. Hence, the mule trek down the road, ridiculously walking with a 4x8 panel of wood on my back.

Once cut, mule trekked back to my house, and put up, I admired my four walls all of about 30 seconds before I decided it was time to add the roof. I needed more wood. 2x4's. Thankfully only 8 foot 2x4's were needed. However, I didn't want to keep borrowing my father-in-law's truck. So, I squeezed 4 2x4's into my small Hyundai. If you put them in the back driver side window and aim them down into the front passenger side floor board, they ALMOST fit! Once the 2x4's were added to the house, it was time for the tin...which had been laying out in my backyard grass waiting for it's time to get added. So, when I lifted the sheets of tin up...what was under them? A snake. Thank God, I was familiar with that snake, or I'd have squealed like a girl and tried to kill him. But I saw him a few weeks ago when I first started clearing for the treehouse, and that first time I saw him is, of course when I little girl squealed and tried to stomp kill him as he craftily slithered into a mole hole. But, I figured out he is a king snake, and king snakes are non-poisonous and apparently keep away other, poisonous snakes, from your yard. So, if you find one in your yard, let him be. Granted I wasn't quite expecting my newfound yard-protecting friend under the tin, so my heart did skip a beat or two...

treehouse

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page