top of page

Above or Below the Line?


above or below line

Kids get disciplined daily in schools as “Above the Line” or “Below the Line.” While I understand that teachers hands are tied on what all they can do as far as discipline goes, I’m not sure how well this works. My boys get very upset if they’re below the line, yet they get qualified as below the line for some very subjective reasons. Talking too much, not listening quickly enough…they’re five. I am not one of the “not my kids” parents who never believe their kids do an…ything wrong. I’m quite the opposite in fact…when something happens, I assume one or BOTH of my boys were responsible. So, I do get that kids need to listen and learn discipline. However, talking to friends too much during lunch? Should that always be a punishable offense? Is this Germany circa 1941?? Shouldn’t we want kids to socialize? I understand that there’s a line between allowed socialization and talking too much, and this method clearly shows which side of that line you’re on…but it often seems a bit strict.

I hate to sound “old”…but “back in my day,” we were paddled. Yep, good ol’ corporal punishment. I am NOT advocating that, but I bring it up to point out that, at that time, I wasn’t sent to get paddled every time I talked too much. So why should you get a “below the line” every single time? And I talked…a LOT. My talking would only show up on report cards as a comment by teachers, which usually read “Pleasure to teach. Talks too much.” Not a daily retribution that often leads to tears…

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page