top of page

Locked In

A while back, my son, Eli, started a game where he locks the car door from the inside while I’m trying to get him out of the car. An epic battle then ensues for who can get the door unlocked or keep it locked. I make a big play of painfully stretching from the driver door all the way to his door on the inside to unlock it with my left hand while my right hand opens the door from the outside. Think about that for a second, I’m 5’11”, so that is quite a stretch. So the “painful” acting isn’t too much of a pretense. Now, what he hasn’t thought through is, if he wins the game…he’s stuck in the car. But, we both get a big kick out of it and a lot of laughs. My other son, Luke, has now thrown his hat in the ring. The other day, while trying to get him out of the car on the other side, he locked his door. I gave my best evil villain laugh and used the unlock button on the key fob, quickly opening his door. He said “how’d you do that?” I held up the keys and said “I have power!”

To that, he replied very calmly and almost creepily, “one day, you’ll get old, and I’ll have the power.”

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page