top of page

Summertime Bedtime


beach

I remember the freedom of summer as a child. Almost as if you'd climbed the barbwire fence of a prison and were now running free through a meadow with not a worry in sight.


School was out!


That meant you could play all day and stay up as late as you liked.

Of course, "back in my day" that meant you played outside where the real playing gets done! Ok, so we had toys and video games too, but I definitely feel like summertime was the time to live outdoors. We just had to come inside once it began getting dark. My brother and I would go MILES from home. Quite literally, my parents would not have any idea whatsoever where we were. Miles from home! If we'd gotten hurt, we could've died somewhere in the woods. Today's a different world, sadly. There's more to entice kids to stay inside, and limits must be set for what they can do outside for their own safety. Predators abound. Again, sadly. I try to get my kids to do a healthy amount outside and limit "couch time." I even do the recommended summer at-home teaching so they don't forget everything before the next school year.


But, the night's are theirs. No more papers, no more books, no more of my dirty looks. Outside isn't an option because it's too dark. So, they get to frolic however they wish throughout the house, playing with toys, video games, and TV. That part IS just like when I was a kid, and it was something I loved, as do my sons. However, I feel like my 3am nights didn't start until I was older...maybe around 10.


Even though we don't give them an official bedtime over the summer, my 6 year old twins tend to knock out about the same time that my wife turns in, between 9:30 and 10:30. And, usually, these late nights are spent watching "cool shows with Daddy"...so I love the time too.

Last night, however, they were going full speed at 11 with no end in sight. So, I called lights out. They cried and said, "But it's summer. No bedtimes." I tried to explain to them that while there's no official bedtime, there is a point when it's late, and we'd hit it. Even so, I felt bad doing what, in their eyes, was seen as going back on the promise of summer freedom where rules are abandoned and the wild is set free.

People have different parenting styles and rules. I'm sure some still set bedtimes over summer, others, like me, do not with the expectation the kids will knock out at decent times without being told to do so. I mean these LATE nights are for weekends, even if it is summer! But, I'd love to hear some opinions on summertime bedtimes do's and don'ts from other parents.


Be sure to check out our other parenting advice.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page